History of the Lodge

We have tried our best to get accurate information. If you have additional information, please contact the Lodge Historian committee. Please do not submit hardcopies of anything without first contacting the committee.

Last updated in 2015.

Basic Information

Information on Council, camps, previous Lodges, etc.

Central Indiana Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow began its existence in Central Indiana in 1938 with the chartering and formation of Kickapoo Lodge #128 in the former Wabash Valley Council. In 1942, in the Kikthawenund Council located in Anderson, Indiana, Kikthawenund Lodge #222 was formed. Three years later in Whitewater Valley Council, Wahpinachi Lodge #308 was chartered. Ten years later in 1955, Wah-Pe-Kah-Me-Kunk Lodge #512 was chartered in Delaware County Council. From 1963 to 1973, there was an “unofficial OA lodge” in Central Indiana Council. The “OA lodge” was associated with the Scout Band under the direction of Harvey Gill, the band director. Two advisers, who were Vigil members, Teed Howard, a professional scouter with the Central Indiana Council, and Ike Slaybaugh, the volunteer adviser, ran the “lodge” which had 70+ members. The Lodge did not have an official name or patch.

In 1973, with the formation of the Crossroads of America Council, Wulakamike Lodge #21 was formed with the merger of Kikthawenund Lodge #222, Wahpinachi Lodge #308, and Wah-Pe-Kah-Me-Kunk Lodge #512. This merger brought the Order of the Arrow to what was once the Central Indiana Council.

In 2003, with the merger of Wabash Valley Council into the Crossroads of America Council, Kickapoo Lodge #128 merged with Wulakamike Lodge #21 forming Jaccos Towne Lodge #21.

Lodge Infrastructure

Information on Officers, Advisers, Chapters, etc.

Lodge Key 3

The Lodge Chief is the elected youth leader, the Lodge Adviser is a BSA adult volunteer appointed by the Scout Executive, and the Lodge Staff Adviser is the Council Scout Executive or his designated staff representative. This group is known as the Key 3.

A list of Lodge Chiefs, Advisers, and Staff Advisers may be found in Appendix B.

Lodge Executive Commitee

The Lodge Executive Committee (LEC) shall be composed of the elected Lodge officers, or their appointed replacements, the Elected Chapter Chiefs, or their designee, and the immediate past Lodge Chief (ex-officio).

Activities & Service

Information on events at Lodge, Section, etc.

Lodge Banquet

The Lodge Banquet, now in January, is the annual dinner and get-together to celebrate the OA year. Founder’s Awards are presented and achievements are celebrated. New Lodge Officers are sworn in. There is a guest speaker, which may be a National Officer or a local dignitary, and there are usually patch auctions.

Spring Fellowship

Lodge Spring Fellowship, typically in March, is a time to get together for fun and fellowship.

Lodge Ordeal

Lodge Ordeal, typically in September, is held for all Ordeal candidates who have not been able to attend one of the previous Ordeals. The Lodge holds its Vigil and Vigil Honor Ceremony, along with elections for Lodge Officers, at this event.

Lodge Leadership Development

Lodge Leadership Development (LLD) is a lodge-level training that develops leadership skills and friendships in the Lodge. LLD uses games and speakers to excite, inform, and train Arrowmen in leadership. Jaccos Towne Lodge holds an annual LLD, typically in December, for all Arrowmen, but especially for newly elected Chapter and Lodge Officers.

Achievements & Awards

Information on Vigil Honor, Founder’s Award, etc.

The Vigil Honor

Alertness to the needs of others is the mark of the Vigil Honor. It calls for an individual with an unusual awareness of the possibilities within each situation.

The Vigil Honor is the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members for service to lodge, council, and Scouting. Membership cannot be won by a person’s conscious endeavors.

The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position of office to one or more of the following:

  • Lodge
  • Order of the Arrow
  • Scouting community
  • Scout Camp

Under no circumstances should tenure in Scouting or the Order of the Arrow be considered as reason enough for a Vigil Honor recommendation.

Any member of the Order of the Arrow registered in Scouting and in good standing in a regularly chartered lodge is eligible for recommendation to the National Order of the Arrow Committee for elevation to the Vigil Honor provided that, at the time of the recommendation, the individual has been a Brotherhood member for a minimum of two years. A lodge may nominate a maximum of two percent of their registered Arrowmen once a year, through the Vigil Honor petition, found in the annual re-charter packet. At least 50 percent of all nominated must be under 21 at the time of nomination.

The list of Vigil Honor members may be found in Appendix E.

The Founder’s Award

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder’s Award recognizes Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates that he or she personifies the spirit of selfless service, as advocated by founder E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson.

The award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, with a wooden base and a brass plate suitable for engraving. Available for uniform wear is a gold-colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

Lodges may petition the national Order of the Arrow committee to present between two and four awards annually, depending on the number of members in the lodge. If the lodge presents more than one award, at least one must be awarded to a youth under the age of 21.

A list of Founder’s Award recipients may be found in Appendix F.

Appendix A

List of those who served National, Regional, etc.

Appendix B

List of Lodge Chiefs, Lodge Advisers & Staff Advisers.

Appendix C

List of previously published Lodge newsletters.

Appendix D

List of NOAC contingent event participation & awards.

Appendix E

List of all Vigil Honor members.

Appendix F

List of the Founder’s Award recipients.

Appendix G to L

List of other individual and Lodge awards.

Appendix M

A more detailed history of the Ku-ne-ih Society.

Appendix N

A history on the Tribe of the Black Arrow.

Table of Contents